iOS DeCal
Overview
Course Staff
Instructors: Akilesh Bapu and Paige Plander

Teaching Assistants: Sameer Suresh, Anwar Baroudi, Gera Groshev, Nithi Narayanan, Chan Hee Park, Maya Reddy, William Smith, Matt Turk, Maaz Uddin, and Chris Zielinski
Time and Place
Tuesday (Lecture) : 6:30 - 8pm in 306 Soda

Thursday (Lab) : 6:30 - 8pm in 310 Soda (Last Names A-L) and 220 Jacobs (Last Names M-Z)

Class on Tuesday will begin with a lecture (approximately an hour in length) followed by an optional office hour. Each Thursday, students will be given a lab assignment to work on with other students, that should take approximately 1.5 hours to complete. Labs will be due the following Tuesday at 11:59pm, in case some students do not finish during the lab period.
Prerequisites
Courses: CS 61A and CS 61B (We will be assuming that students are familiar with Object Oriented Programming)

Hardware: A Macbook running OS X Yosemite 10.10 or later
Description
This DeCal was started by Professor Dan Garcia (now our Faculty Advisor) in 2001 as MS-DOS X, a student-run Objective-C course for OS X (and later iOS) development. Rebooted in the Fall 2015 semester, the renamed iOS DeCal now operates with the latest devices (e.g. iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple TV). The class was restructured with fun new homeworks and projects aimed at ensuring students gain confidence in their ability to program for iOS. By the end of the semester, students will have created a variety of apps (e.g. Utility, Game, Social Network) from scratch, including one entirely of their own design.

Piazza
Grading
30% Projects
35% Labs
35% Final Project

Attendance is based on a pass/fail policy. If you have more than 3 unexcused absences, you will not pass the course.
Schedule
Date
January 31 (Tues)
February 2 (Thurs)
February 7 (Tues)
February 9 (Thurs)
February 14 (Tues)
February 16 (Thurs)
February 21 (Tues)
February 23 (Thurs)
February 28 (Tues)
March 2 (Thurs)
March 7 (Tues)
March 9 (Thurs)
March 14 (Tues)
March 16 (Thurs)
March 21 (Tues)
March 23 (Thurs)
March 28 (Tues)
March 30 (Thurs)
April 4 (Tues)
April 6 (Thurs)
April 11 (Tues)
April 13 (Thurs)
April 18 (Tues)
April 20 (Thurs)
April 25 (Tues)
Projects
Swift 3 Tour (read before lab on 2/2)
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
Custom App Checkin
-
-
-
-